RSS

I’M A PROFESSIONAL SCREENWRITER!

15 Jun

 

I’m a pro!

Today I got paid £100 upfront for rewriting a ten page short film script. I am now a professional screenwriter!! It feels so damned good, I’ve had the most ridiculous grin on my face all day. I applied for the job on Wednesday morning with a couple of my sample short scripts and received an email at 7pm offering me the work and the cheque and contract arrived today. Rock on!

I’m also one of eight writers on a feature length film made up of eight short films on mental health for new production company Red Dress Productions. 

http://www.reddressproductions.co.uk/

They seem very professional and once they secure funding for the project I should get paid. Mental health is something I’m very interested in so I’m really looking forward to working on this and can’t wait for the first meeting. I seriously hope this pans out properly.

I also recently landed a film reviewing job on a new website. Its aim is to promote short films, in particular those in the horror genre, and new film makers. The site is still being built but you can have a look around to see what they’re up to. http://www.ghosttownrec.com/

It will work like a record label, hence their name, and will take on the best new shorts as ‘New Signings’ and create ‘Albums’ of certain directors. There is also a ‘Classics’ section which is what I’m currently reviewing for. It’s great fun. I’m loving all the movies and spending more time on there than I probably should be with all my other stuff going on but I feel I’m learning loads from watching these.

I’m reviewing for free at present in the hope that the site will take off, which I think it will as there is currently nothing like it and the web is saturated with short films from new directors looking for exposure.

 

William Blake’s Urizen

The MA is going well, into the final leg now, so getting stuck into my final script and essay. Loving my research at the moment, getting easily sidetracked by all those fantastic books in the library. Whenever I’m in there this little voice in my head says “so many books, so little time” and I get this image of an old man with a long white beard just sitting there reading and he’s been there forever, reading and reading.

I’m on top of my time management issues for the moment and treating the library as my office, getting myself in there from 9-5 and as most of the students have left campus and exams are over, it’s my own private office and I LOVE IT!

 

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2012 in Back To Uni

 

4 responses to “I’M A PROFESSIONAL SCREENWRITER!

  1. Caroline Coxon

    June 15, 2012 at 19:34

    Absolutely fab! XXX

     
  2. Fiona King

    June 18, 2012 at 08:56

    Wow Mel, all this sounds brilliant!! I’m especially interested in the mental health project. Mental health needs ‘ normalising’ to be seen as less of a mystery and more as something we all have.. and the distress of which also as something we can all experience. If you ever want to natter about mh then I’m your gal! I love the design of the Ghost Town site, whoever did that!
    Good luck with everything! xx

     
  3. Ian

    June 30, 2012 at 16:09

    Mel if you need some real info on mental health I suggest you speak to Joan, that is her profession.
    She is a senior nurse/team leader for a group of social workers and mental health nurses in the area.
    No names or places to be mentioned for the obvious reasons.

     
    • The 40 Year Old Student

      June 30, 2012 at 16:12

      Thanks dad,
      My friend Fiona is just about to qualify as a psychiatric nurse so I’ve got two professionals to turn to!

       

Leave a Reply

 
