RSS

WHAT A YEAR!

02 Aug

Almost a year ago I started this Blog because I had just interviewed for the post of Resident Tutor at Bath Spa University where I was to be studying for my MA. The post included accommodation on campus and I was dithering about giving up my home and my jobs and all that entailed.

Well, almost one year later, and here I am packing up to leave campus having lived here since September. I am now jobless and homeless but the happiest I have been in almost two decades. It was definitely the right decision and what a year it’s been.

Moved to campus.

Wrote my first stage play.

   Shattered my ankle.

Lost a locum position because of this.

Stopped smoking.

Went tee-total.                      

Joined two dating sites.

Went on one rubbish date.

       Read a tonne of books.

Wrote a first draft of my feature-length supernatural coming of age thriller.

Became a short horror film reviewer for Ghost Town Records.

Got my first paid writing job on a short film script.

Wrote 16 short film scripts.

Wrote 2 short plays.

Found some amazing film people on Talent Circle & Shooting People.

Shot & edited my first short.

Wrote & shot my 2nd short film.

Passed all my modules.

On course for a first.                                                                                    

Failed to find a second job.

Used up ALL my emergency overdraft.

Wow.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2012 in Back To Uni

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “WHAT A YEAR!

  1. playfulmeanderings

    August 2, 2012 at 18:22

    Sounds like bliss! A whole new life and outlook.

     
  2. Caroline Coxon

    August 2, 2012 at 21:51

    On course for a first? That’s wonderful, especially after all the things that have happened in your life. XXXXX

     
  3. The 40 Year Old Student

    August 2, 2012 at 22:42

    I still have two months in which to muck it all up of course!

     
  4. Fiona

    August 3, 2012 at 00:17

    Wow Mel! What a great summary of a fab year! I have kept up with you the lazy way..rss feed…but you know, I’m glad it exists! Have thoroughly enjoyed the way you write, the photos you have shared and your entry to the film 4 stylie competition. Keep it up! You are a talented lady! 🙂 x

     

Leave a Reply

 
